//
you're reading...
Inspire Africa Reality TV Show Season 1

SO YOU THINK YOU HAVE A BUSINESS IDEA? – PART 2

Young men and women, smart, shabby, sharp and high-strung piled up in the hallway sizing each other up  mindfully calculating the odds of making it to the final six out of all. The process of selecting the contestants for the Project Inspire Africa Reality TV Show started like this at an audition of the hopefuls. In they went, out they left. Some left content, others disheartened. Some taking as long as what seemed like a lunch break, others what seemed as short as a piss break.

My turn did come around eventually. Having gone through my notes and mustered as much confidence as I could marched in the room like a Spartan soldier going into battle. “Tell me about yourself?” asked one of the three judges. Most interviews begin with this “innocent” question. Many people, unprepared for the question, skewer themselves by rambling on, recapping their life story, delving into a boring work history or embarrassing personal matters. My answer, “I am the youngest, most enterprising and forward thinking Medical Doctor you will come across”.  This set the tone for what I considered a command performance. And indeed it was because later that day I was told that I had made it through to the last round of the auditions.

At the final round was a group of astute gentlemen in tight fitting suits and ladies in pencil thin skirts. It was game on. You could tell they were putting their best foot forward.  As a stunt to throw the nervous ones off their game and over the edge, I paced up and down the hallway emitting an infectious nervous energy. Did it work? Hell yeah! It didn’t take too long before it was my turn. Under my breath, I muttered, “Let’s rock’n’roll”.

The Questions followed like a shots out of the barrel of a machine gun and I answering back as succinctly as I could. Towards the end I was asked whether I had a passport and I said,” yes”. Incidentally I had it one me and actually pulled it out of my pocket to show the judges. That was how much I was prepared. I walked out of the room thinking to myself, “if that doesn’t cut it, I don’t know what will”.  I got selected.

Why? That’s really for the judges to answer but the plan was to come off as confident, passionate, enterprising and forward thinking. And not only be that but also by articulately presenting my unique health care business plan.

And these were the first few steps of my journey of 1000 memorable experiences, battles, lifelong lessons strewn with booby traps in the exhilarating Project Inspire Africa contest.

 

In my next post I’ll share with you my Sigmund Freud Psychoanalytic first impression of each of the contestants when I met them.

 

 Navigating this Life!

 

About Davisthedoc

Medical Doctor. Entrepreneur. Speaker I'm careful about what I want coz i get it.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “SO YOU THINK YOU HAVE A BUSINESS IDEA? – PART 2

  1. Good stuff Davis…looking forward to your next article. Sadly, i can’t watch you on TV kick butt here in 254!!Kudos mate

    Posted by David Gray | January 13, 2012, 6:12 PM
  2. It is interesting to note how much preparation you people have put into the whole project in addition to the fact that you are a doctor and entrepreneur at the same time. Judging by the confidence you exuded at the auditions, am sure if you keep it up, then someday in the near future, we are gonna see your health care master plan a reality.

    Posted by Tumusiime Patrick | January 14, 2012, 8:31 PM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 8,580 views

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

